February 18th, 2020 Book Releases & BOOK GIVEAWAY! {Gen The Bookworm}

new book releases

Happy Publication Day!!

If you are looking to stock up on some new reads, today is your day. There are so many great new releases this week that I felt this publication day deserved its own blog post!

I am so grateful to have received advanced copies of The Opposite of Fate, The Antidote for Everything, Saint X and The Sun Down Motel. Thank you to Mariner Books, Berkley Publishing and Celadon Books for these advanced copies.

I will continue to share my individual book reviews for all of these books during the next couple of days! Read more...

What’s On Your Nightstand? | Reading List & Book Recommendations {Susanna The Librarian}

book recommendations

What’s On Your Nightstand Book Friend Series

Welcome to another edition of my reading list and book recommendations guest post series. Today I have my first guest poster that is a librarian! While I consider myself a big reader, librarians are on a whole other level of reading awesomeness.

Over the last few years, I have become involved in our town library as a volunteer and it has been so fascinating to get to know the librarians that work there, especially Susanna, who you might have heard me mention quite a bit on here.  She is also the one … Read more...

Coffee Talk | Currently Loving…Winter Blues, My First Podcast Interview, Cozy Must-Haves & Book Giveaway!

Currently Loving

Happy February & The Winter Blues…

Gen The Bookworm

I have been meaning to check in with a coffee talk blog post and now we are halfway through February! How is your month going?

It has been a more challenging winter for me personally. The weather has been particularly dark and gray and I know that adds to the overall feeling of sadness and increased anxiety for me personally (and also many other people…)

2020-02-05_0003

While this is something I have been managing quite well for a while now (with medication, regular therapy, exercise, talking with close friends, time outside, etc), it doesn’t mean … Read more...

Postscript by Cecelia Ahern | Grand Central Publishing {Book Review}

PS, I Love You

Postscript by Cecelia Ahern

Book Summary:

Sixteen years after Cecelia Ahern’s bestselling phenomenon PS, I Love You captured the hearts of millions, the long-awaited sequel follows Holly as she helps strangers leave their own messages behind for loved ones.

Seven years after her husband’s death — six since she read his final letter — Holly Kennedy has moved on with her life. When Holly’s sister asks her to tell the story of the “PS, I Love You” letters on her podcast — to revisit the messages Gerry wrote before his death to read after his passing — she does so Read more...

Happy & You Know It by Laura Hankin | Berkley Publishing {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Laura Hankin

Happy & You Know It by Laura Hankin

Book Summary:

A dark, witty page-turner about a struggling young musician who takes a job singing for a playgroup of overprivileged babies and their effortlessly cool moms, only to find herself pulled into their glamorous lives and dangerous secrets…
 
After her former band shot to superstardom without her, Claire reluctantly agrees to a gig as a playgroup musician for wealthy infants on New York’s Park Avenue. Claire is surprised to discover that she is smitten with her new employers, a welcoming clique of wellness addicts with impossibly shiny hair, who whirl from Read more...

Open Book by Jessica Simpson | Dey Street Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Jessica Simpson memoir

Book Summary:

Jessica reveals for the first time her inner monologue and most intimate struggles. Guided by the journals she’s kept since age fifteen, and brimming with her unique humor and down-to-earth humanity, Open Book is as inspiring as it is entertaining.

This was supposed to be a very different book. Five years ago, Jessica Simpson was approached to write a motivational guide to living your best life. She walked away from the offer, and nobody understood why. The truth is that she didn’t want to lie.

Jessica couldn’t be authentic with her readers if she wasn’t fully honest with Read more...

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett | Riverhead Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Brit Bennett

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

Book Summary:

The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it’s not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adults, it’s everything: their families, their communities, their racial identities.

Ten years later, one sister lives with her black daughter in the same southern town she once tried to escape. The other secretly passes for white, and her white husband knows nothing of her past. Still, even separated by so many miles and just Read more...

Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes by Kathleen West | Berkley Publishing {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Kathleen West

Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes by Kathleen West

Book Summary:

Perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Small Admissions, a wry and cleverly observed debut novel about the privileged bubble that is Liston Heights High–the micro-managing parents, the overworked teachers, and the students caught in the middle–and the fallout for each of them when the bubble finally bursts.

Isobel Johnson knows helicopter parents like Julia Abbott–a stage mom whose world revolves around interfering in her children’s lives–come with the territory. Julia resents teachers like Isobel, who effortlessly bond with students, including Julia’s own teenagers, who have started pulling Read more...

The Night Swim by Megan Goldin | St. Martin’s Press {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Book Review copy-11

The Night Swim by Megan Goldin

Book Summary:

In this new thriller from Megan Goldin, the author of The Escape Room, a podcast host covering a controversial trial in a small town becomes obsessed with a brutal crime that took place there years before.

After the first season of her true-crime podcast became an overnight sensation and set an innocent man free, Rachel Krall is now a household name―and the last hope for thousands of people seeking justice. But she’s used to being recognized for her voice, not her face. Which makes it all the more unsettling when she finds Read more...

January 2020 Book Recap & Ratings {Gen The Bookworm Monthly Reading Wrap-Up}

book recap

Happy February!

Part of me can’t believe it is February already and another part of me feels like January lasted forever. The good thing about the last month feeling long is that my reading list feels the same way! I ended up having a pretty great month of reading that was heavy on the audiobooks.

LibroFM #AudiobookSwitch

Screen Shot 2020-02-01 at 6.53.31 AM

LibroFM is a wonderful alternative way to enjoy audiobooks and also support small bookstores and if you haven’t heard of it before you have to check it out. Right now they have an amazing introductory offer!  If you are interested in trying it … Read more...