The Best Books of 2019 {Gen The Bookworm Book Recommendations}

favorite books 2019

Best Books of 2019…

Hello! I have been planning on doing this post for weeks and I am so happy to finally be sharing it today. For some reason, figuring out which books would make this list was much harder than I initially anticipated. I think this is partly because I read so many amazing books last year that it was just hard to narrow it down, which is NOT a bad problem to have.

Tracking My Reading:

5d7f672f8f8e5ce84fa5227a77519924

After overthinking it for weeks, I decided I was going to look back at all the books I read and then decide … Read more...

Kindle Book Deals | January 26th, 2020 {Gen The Bookworm eBook Deals}

ebook deals

Kindle Book Deals!

There are some great Kindle Book Deals today and it’s a great time to stock up…

Angie Cruz

Domincana by Angie Cruz

Kindle Book Deal 

You can read my book review of Dominicana HERE

Colleen Hoover books

Regretting You by Colleen Hoover

Kindle Book Deal

You can read my book review of Regretting You HERE.

Alex North

The Whisper Man by Alex North

Kindle Book Deal 

You can read my review of The Whisper Man HERE.

Isabel Allende

The House of Spirits by Isabel Allende

Kindle Book Deal 

Angie Kim

Miracle Creek by Angie Kim

Kindle Book Deal

You can read my review of Miracle Creek … Read more...

Follow Me by Kathleen Barber | Gallery Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

domestic thriller

Follow Me by Kathleen Barber

Book Summary:

From the author of Truth Be Told (formerly titled Are You Sleeping)—now an Apple TV series of the same name—comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes’s You.

Everyone wants new followers…until they follow you home.

Audrey Miller has an enviable new job at the Smithsonian, a body by reformer Pilates, an apartment door with a broken lock, and hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers to bear witness to it all. Having just moved to Washington, DC, Audrey busies herself Read more...

Little Secrets by Jennifer Hillier | Minotaur Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Minotaur books

Little Secrets by Jennifer Hillier

Book Summary:

From the author of Jar of Hearts, a mother driven to the edge by the disappearance of her son learns her husband is having an affair with the woman who might have kidnapped him.

Four hundred and eighty seconds. That’s how long it took for someone to steal Marin Machado’s four-year-old son.

Marin had the perfect life. Married to her college sweetheart, she owns a chain of upscale hair salons, and Derek runs his own company. They’re admired in their community and are a loving family. Up until the day Sebastian is … Read more...

American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins | Flatiron Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

American Dirt Jeanine Cummins

Book Summary:

American Dirt is a rare exploration into the inner hearts of people willing to sacrifice everything for a glimmer of hope.

Lydia Quixano Perez lives in the Mexican city of Acapulco. She runs a bookstore. She has a son, Luca, the love of her life, and a wonderful husband who is a journalist. And while there are cracks beginning to show in Acapulco because of the drug cartels, her life is, by and large, fairly comfortable.

Even though she knows they’ll never sell, Lydia stocks some of her all-time favorite books in her store. And then one day Read more...

The Red Lotus by Chris Bohjalian | #Partner @Doubledaybooks | Book Giveaway! {Gen The Bookworm}

Gen The Bookworm giveaway

(#partner Doubleday Books

It’s Time For Another Facebook Friends Book Giveaway!

I am excited to offer an advanced reader copy of Chris Bohjalian’s 2020 book release, The Red Lotus, to one of YOU!

I read The Red Lotus this past fall and I am excited that we are getting closer to its publication date (March 17th, 2020!)

Bohjalian is known for his character-driven novels full of suspense and intrigue. This one was a page-turner and while it was a topic I would never have predicted I would be into, I had a hard time putting it … Read more...

Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer | Graydon House {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Book Review copy-5

Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer

Book Summary:

From the bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say comes a poignant post-WWII novel that explores the expectations society places on women set within an engrossing family mystery that may unravel everything once believed to be true.

With her father recently moved to a care facility, Beth Walsh volunteers to clear out the family home and is surprised to discover the door to her childhood playroom padlocked. She’s even more shocked at what’s behind it—a hoarder’s mess of her father’s paintings, mounds of discarded papers and miscellaneous junk in Read more...

Grace is Gone by Emily Elgar | HarperCollins {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Emily Elgar

Grace is Gone by Emily Elgar

Book Summary:

From the bestselling author of If You Knew Her comes this harrowing tale of suspense—a story ripped from today’s headlines—of a tight-knit English community, who’s rocked by the murder of a mother and the mysterious disappearance of her daughter, and the secrets that lie concealed beneath a carefully constructed facade.

A small town’s beloved family.

A shocking, senseless crime—and the dark secret at the heart of it all.

Everyone in Ashford, Cornwall, knows Meg Nichols and her daughter, Grace. Meg has been selflessly caring for Grace for years, and Grace—smiling and optimistic Read more...

Kindle Book Deals! | January 19th, 2020 {Gen The Bookworm Book Deals}

ebook deals

Kindle Book Deals!

It’s a great day for some Kindle Book Deals! I have found that Sundays tend to have the best daily kindle deals and today was a goldmine. When I saw that two of my 5-star non-fiction favorites were deals of the day, I knew it was going to be a good one.

Burnout

She Said by Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey and Burnout by Emily and Amelia Nagoski were both absolutely amazing and are books that have stuck with me long after finishing them.

kindle book deals

In addition, there are a bunch of great contemporary fiction reads that would make … Read more...

You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers | Atria Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Lindsay Powers

You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers

Book Summary:

Cribsheet meets The Sh!t No One Tells You in this no-holds-barred, judgment-free parenting guide that sets the record straight on every hot-button parenting topic by longtime journalist and founder of the viral #NoShameParenting movement.

What if you could do more for your kids, by doing a whole lot less?

Parenting today has become a competitive sport, and it seems that everyone is losing. From the very moment that little line turns blue, parents-to-be find themselves in a brave new world where every decision they make is fraught, every action Read more...