Follow Me by Kathleen Barber | Gallery Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

domestic thriller

Follow Me by Kathleen Barber

Book Summary:

From the author of Truth Be Told (formerly titled Are You Sleeping)—now an Apple TV series of the same name—comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes’s You.

Everyone wants new followers…until they follow you home.

Audrey Miller has an enviable new job at the Smithsonian, a body by reformer Pilates, an apartment door with a broken lock, and hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers to bear witness to it all. Having just moved to Washington, DC, Audrey busies herself Read more...

American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins | Flatiron Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

American Dirt Jeanine Cummins

Book Summary:

American Dirt is a rare exploration into the inner hearts of people willing to sacrifice everything for a glimmer of hope.

Lydia Quixano Perez lives in the Mexican city of Acapulco. She runs a bookstore. She has a son, Luca, the love of her life, and a wonderful husband who is a journalist. And while there are cracks beginning to show in Acapulco because of the drug cartels, her life is, by and large, fairly comfortable.

Even though she knows they’ll never sell, Lydia stocks some of her all-time favorite books in her store. And then one day Read more...

The Red Lotus by Chris Bohjalian | #Partner @Doubledaybooks | Book Giveaway! {Gen The Bookworm}

Gen The Bookworm giveaway

(#partner Doubleday Books

It’s Time For Another Facebook Friends Book Giveaway!

I am excited to offer an advanced reader copy of Chris Bohjalian’s 2020 book release, The Red Lotus, to one of YOU!

I read The Red Lotus this past fall and I am excited that we are getting closer to its publication date (March 17th, 2020!)

Bohjalian is known for his character-driven novels full of suspense and intrigue. This one was a page-turner and while it was a topic I would never have predicted I would be into, I had a hard time putting it … Read more...

Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer | Graydon House {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Book Review copy-5

Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer

Book Summary:

From the bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say comes a poignant post-WWII novel that explores the expectations society places on women set within an engrossing family mystery that may unravel everything once believed to be true.

With her father recently moved to a care facility, Beth Walsh volunteers to clear out the family home and is surprised to discover the door to her childhood playroom padlocked. She’s even more shocked at what’s behind it—a hoarder’s mess of her father’s paintings, mounds of discarded papers and miscellaneous junk in Read more...

Grace is Gone by Emily Elgar | HarperCollins {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Emily Elgar

Grace is Gone by Emily Elgar

Book Summary:

From the bestselling author of If You Knew Her comes this harrowing tale of suspense—a story ripped from today’s headlines—of a tight-knit English community, who’s rocked by the murder of a mother and the mysterious disappearance of her daughter, and the secrets that lie concealed beneath a carefully constructed facade.

A small town’s beloved family.

A shocking, senseless crime—and the dark secret at the heart of it all.

Everyone in Ashford, Cornwall, knows Meg Nichols and her daughter, Grace. Meg has been selflessly caring for Grace for years, and Grace—smiling and optimistic Read more...

You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers | Atria Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Lindsay Powers

You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers

Book Summary:

Cribsheet meets The Sh!t No One Tells You in this no-holds-barred, judgment-free parenting guide that sets the record straight on every hot-button parenting topic by longtime journalist and founder of the viral #NoShameParenting movement.

What if you could do more for your kids, by doing a whole lot less?

Parenting today has become a competitive sport, and it seems that everyone is losing. From the very moment that little line turns blue, parents-to-be find themselves in a brave new world where every decision they make is fraught, every action Read more...

What’s On Your Nightstand? | Reading List & Book Recommendations {Michelle}

reading list

First Guest Post of 2020!

Welcome to the first Nightstand Series post in 2020! I love being able to share book content with a wider range of perspectives and genres and I am so appreciative of all my reading friends who have helped make this happen by sharing their reading list and recommendations.

2019 Guest Posters!

reading recommendations

I started this book friends series last January and it has been so fun looking back at all the people and books that were shared. You can check out all of my 2019 Nightstand Series posts below…

Genevieve @genthebookworm

Molly

Emily

Kristy @kristy.dooley.photography

KatyRead more...

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle | Atria Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

Book Summary:

Where do you see yourself in five years?

When Type-A Manhattan lawyer Dannie Cohan is asked this question at the most important interview of her career, she has a meticulously crafted answer at the ready. Later, after nailing her interview and accepting her boyfriend’s marriage proposal, Dannie goes to sleep knowing she is right on track to achieve her five-year plan.

But when she wakes up, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. The television news is on in the Read more...

The Third Rainbow Girl by Emma Copley Eisenberg | Hachette Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Emma Copley Eisenbeg

The Third Rainbow Girl by Emma Copley Eisenberg

Book Summary:

In the early evening of June 25, 1980, in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, two middle-class outsiders named Vicki Durian, 26, and Nancy Santomero, 19, were murdered in an isolated clearing. They were hitchhiking to a festival known as the Rainbow Gathering but never arrived; they traveled with a third woman however, who lived. For thirteen years, no one was prosecuted for the “Rainbow Murders,” though deep suspicion was cast on a succession of local residents in the community, depicted as poor, dangerous, and backward.

In 1993, a local farmer was Read more...

Big Lies in a Small Town by Diane Chamberlain Book Giveaway! {Gen The Bookworm}

Diane Chamberlain

It’s GIVEAWAY Time Over on my Instagram page @genthebookworm!

I have been waiting for months and it is finally almost here! Diane Chamberlain’s 2020 fiction release, Big Lies in a Small Town will be published next week!! 🙌

Book Summary of Big Lies in a Small Town:

North Carolina, 2018: Morgan Christopher’s life has been derailed. Taking the fall for a crime she did not commit, she finds herself serving a three-year stint in the North Carolina Women’s Correctional Center. Her dream of a career in art is put on hold―until a mysterious visitor makes her an offer Read more...