June 11th, 2019 Book Releases | Happy Publication Day!

June 11th, 2019 Book Releases…Happy Publication Day!

Jennifer Weiner

Highly Recommend:

My top recommendation today is one I have been excited about for months! Mrs. Everything is just amazing and whether you have read Jennifer Weiner’s books in the past or not, you should definitely check it out. I read an advanced copy a few months ago and I am still thinking about it today!

41592780.jpg

Mrs. Everything by Jennifer Weiner

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

My full review can be found HERE.

Mrs. Everything is the highly anticipated release from women’s literature legend, Jennifer Weiner. Mrs. Everything covers the life of two sisters, Jo and Bethie, as they struggle to find their place and identity in an ever-changing America.

Weiner’s ability to transport you to a totally different time and place makes this book so engrossing  There is a Judy Blume vibe in her writing that brought me right back to one of my very favorite adolescent reading favorites, Are You There God It’s Me, Margaret.

I loved the relationships and the powerful(and sometimes painful)issues that were covered. Weiners writing is always so relatable and raw and she is just such a gifted storyteller.  If you are looking for a book that will inspire a great conversation with a reading friend, or are looking for your next book club pick, this is it!


41150483.jpg

The First Mistake by Sandie Jones

My full review can be found HERE.

“THE WIFE: For Alice, life has never been better. With her second husband, she has a successful business, two children, and a beautiful house.

HER HUSBAND: Alice knows that life could have been different if her first husband had lived, but Nathan’s arrival into her life gave her back the happiness she craved.

HER BEST FRIEND: Through the ups and downs of life, from celebratory nights out to comforting each other through loss, Alice knows that with her best friend Beth by her side, they can survive anything together. So when Nathan starts acting strangely, Alice turns to Beth for help. But soon, Alice begins to wonder whether her trust has been misplaced . . .

The first mistake could be her last.”


51bHEovddHL

The Summer Guests by Mary Alice Monroe

You can read my full review HERE.

“Late August is a beautiful time on the Southern coast—the peach trees are ripe, the ocean is warm, and the sweet tea is icy. A perfect time to enjoy the rocking chairs on the porch. But beneath the calm surface bubbles a threat: it’s also peak hurricane season.

When a hurricane threatens the coasts of Florida and South Carolina, an eclectic group of evacuees flees for the farm of their friends Grace and Charles Phillips in North Carolina: the Phillips’s daughter Moira and her rescue dogs, famed equestrian Javier Angel de la Cruz, makeup artist Hannah McLain, horse breeder Gerda Klug and her daughter Elise, and island resident Cara Rutledge. They bring with them only the few treasured possessions they can fit in their vehicles. Strangers to all but the Phillips, they must ride out the storm together.

During the course of one of the most challenging weeks of their lives, relationships are put to the test as the evacuees are forced to confront the unresolved issues they have with themselves and with each other. But as the storm passes, they realize that what really matters isn’t what they brought with them to the mountains. Rather, it’s what they’ll take with them once they leave.

With Mary Alice Monroe’s “usual resplendent storytelling” (Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author), The Summer Guests is a poignant and compelling story of self-discovery, love, and redemption.”’


Happy reading!! <3

You Were Always Mine by Nicole Baart | Atria Books | Book Review

You Were Always Mine by Nicole Baart

Book Review-9

I am starting to look back on the books I have read this year to pick out what ones were my favorites of 2018. This one sticks out as a very memorable reading experience. I read You Were Always Mine on vacation and it is the perfect book to curl up with and get lost in the story.


Book Summary:

“The acclaimed author of Little Broken Things returns with another “race-to-the-finish family drama” (People) about a single mother who becomes embroiled in a mystery that threatens to tear apart what’s left of her family.

Jessica Chamberlain, newly separated and living with her two sons in a small Iowa town, can’t believe that a tragedy in another state could have anything to do with her. But when her phone rings one quiet morning, her world is shattered. As she tries to pick up the pieces and make sense of what went wrong, Jess begins to realize that a tragic death is just the beginning. Soon she is caught in a web of lies and half-truths—and she’s horrified to learn that everything leads back to her seven-year-old adopted son, Gabriel.

Years ago, Gabe’s birth mother requested a closed adoption and Jessica was more than happy to comply. But when her house is broken into and she discovers a clue that suggests her estranged husband was in close contact with Gabe’s biological mother, she vows to uncover the truth at any cost. A harrowing story of tenacious love and heartbreaking betrayal, You Were Always Mine is about the wars we wage to keep the ones we love close, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult.”

My Rating:

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

My Review:

This book!! I had high hopes for this one and it did not disappoint! It was my first Nicole Baart and it won’t be my last. I was hooked from the beginning and it was completely engrossing. I love that it focused on the issue of adoption but it was so much more than that. I loved the mystery about Jessica’s husband and it kept me guessing until the very end.

The characters were incredibly detailed and I felt like I could totally connect with what they were going through on this journey of what makes a family and who the people around you really are…

Thank you to NetGalley and Atria Books for gifting me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.