April 2020 Book Recap & Ratings {Reading Wrap-Up}

Book ratings

Reading in April

All these details are coming at you a couple weeks late, but I guess it’s better now than never! While I am working on posting more regularly over on Instagram, posting on here takes a lot more time..which in theory I have more of lately, but the chaos of our days would say otherwise! 😉

Reading has always been one of my coping mechanisms to handle stress but this quarantine really has thrown that for a loop. I have struggled like many to focus which has meant reading has felt challenging at times.

I have found … Read more...

The Closer You Get by Mary Torjussen | Berkley Publishing {Blog Tour Review}

book review

The Closer You Get by Mary Torjussen

Book Summary:

They promised to tell their spouses they were leaving and then meet to begin their new life together. But he never shows up.

A new twisting novel of psychological suspense from the acclaimed author of Gone Without a Trace.

Coworkers Ruby and Harry are in love–but they’re married to other people. They decide to tell their spouses that their marriages are over and to start their new lives together. Ruby, who has wanted to leave her controlling husband for a while, tells him she’s leaving him and waits at the hotel … Read more...

Stay Home & Read More Books! {40+ Highly Recommended Book Suggestions}

book list

Seeing The Positive

While this is unchartered territory for so many of us, I am happy to hear that people are wanting to read! I have had a few emails from readers requesting book suggestions for authors and titles that are completely engrossing.

I don’t know about you but when I am worried, I need things that are totally engaging and distracting. These books are ones that completely took me in and I couldn’t think about anything else, which is exactly what you might need right now too. I hope this inspires your current reading list!

Stay Home Save

Read more...

Darling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel | Berkley Publishing Blog Tour {Book Review}

Darling Rose Gold

Darling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel

Book Summary:

Mothers never forget. Daughters never forgive.
 
For the first eighteen years of her life, Rose Gold Watts believed she was seriously ill. She was allergic to everything, used a wheelchair and practically lived at the hospital. Neighbors did all they could, holding fundraisers and offering shoulders to cry on, but no matter how many doctors, tests, or surgeries, no one could figure out what was wrong with Rose Gold.

Turns out her mom, Patty Watts, was just a really good liar.

After serving five years in prison, Patty gets out with nowhere Read more...

The Dilemma by B.A. Paris | St. Martin’s Press {Book Review}

The Dilemma

The Dilemma by B.A. Paris

Book Summary:

Knowing the truth will destroy her. Keeping it secret will destroy him.

It’s Livia’s 40th birthday, and her husband Adam is throwing her the party of a lifetime to make up for the wedding they never had. Everyone she loves will be there, except her daughter Marnie, who’s studying abroad.

But although Livia loves Marnie, she’s secretly glad she won’t be there. Livia has recently uncovered a secret about their daughter which, if revealed, will shake the foundation of their family to its core. She needs to tell Adam, but she’s waiting until Read more...

January 2020 Book Recap & Ratings {Gen The Bookworm Monthly Reading Wrap-Up}

book recap

Happy February!

Part of me can’t believe it is February already and another part of me feels like January lasted forever. The good thing about the last month feeling long is that my reading list feels the same way! I ended up having a pretty great month of reading that was heavy on the audiobooks.

LibroFM #AudiobookSwitch

Screen Shot 2020-02-01 at 6.53.31 AM

LibroFM is a wonderful alternative way to enjoy audiobooks and also support small bookstores and if you haven’t heard of it before you have to check it out. Right now they have an amazing introductory offer!  If you are interested in trying it … Read more...

You Are Not Alone by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen | St. Martin’s Press {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

You are Not Alone book

You Are Not Alone by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

Book Summary:

The electrifying number-one New York Times best-selling authors of The Wife Between Us and An Anonymous Girl return with a brand new novel of psychological suspense.

Shay Miller wants to find love, but it eludes her. She wants to be fulfilled, but her job is a dead end. She wants to belong, but her life is increasingly lonely.

Until Shay meets the Moore sisters. Cassandra and Jane live a life of glamorous perfection, and always get what they desire. When they invite Shay into their circle, everything seems Read more...

Follow Me by Kathleen Barber | Gallery Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

domestic thriller

Follow Me by Kathleen Barber

Book Summary:

From the author of Truth Be Told (formerly titled Are You Sleeping)—now an Apple TV series of the same name—comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes’s You.

Everyone wants new followers…until they follow you home.

Audrey Miller has an enviable new job at the Smithsonian, a body by reformer Pilates, an apartment door with a broken lock, and hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers to bear witness to it all. Having just moved to Washington, DC, Audrey busies herself Read more...

Little Secrets by Jennifer Hillier | Minotaur Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Minotaur books

Little Secrets by Jennifer Hillier

Book Summary:

From the author of Jar of Hearts, a mother driven to the edge by the disappearance of her son learns her husband is having an affair with the woman who might have kidnapped him.

Four hundred and eighty seconds. That’s how long it took for someone to steal Marin Machado’s four-year-old son.

Marin had the perfect life. Married to her college sweetheart, she owns a chain of upscale hair salons, and Derek runs his own company. They’re admired in their community and are a loving family. Up until the day Sebastian is … Read more...

Grace is Gone by Emily Elgar | HarperCollins {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Emily Elgar

Grace is Gone by Emily Elgar

Book Summary:

From the bestselling author of If You Knew Her comes this harrowing tale of suspense—a story ripped from today’s headlines—of a tight-knit English community, who’s rocked by the murder of a mother and the mysterious disappearance of her daughter, and the secrets that lie concealed beneath a carefully constructed facade.

A small town’s beloved family.

A shocking, senseless crime—and the dark secret at the heart of it all.

Everyone in Ashford, Cornwall, knows Meg Nichols and her daughter, Grace. Meg has been selflessly caring for Grace for years, and Grace—smiling and optimistic Read more...