Follow Me by Kathleen Barber | Gallery Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

domestic thriller

Follow Me by Kathleen Barber

Book Summary:

From the author of Truth Be Told (formerly titled Are You Sleeping)—now an Apple TV series of the same name—comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes’s You.

Everyone wants new followers…until they follow you home.

Audrey Miller has an enviable new job at the Smithsonian, a body by reformer Pilates, an apartment door with a broken lock, and hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers to bear witness to it all. Having just moved to Washington, DC, Audrey busies herself Read more...

Little Secrets by Jennifer Hillier | Minotaur Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Minotaur books

Little Secrets by Jennifer Hillier

Book Summary:

From the author of Jar of Hearts, a mother driven to the edge by the disappearance of her son learns her husband is having an affair with the woman who might have kidnapped him.

Four hundred and eighty seconds. That’s how long it took for someone to steal Marin Machado’s four-year-old son.

Marin had the perfect life. Married to her college sweetheart, she owns a chain of upscale hair salons, and Derek runs his own company. They’re admired in their community and are a loving family. Up until the day Sebastian is … Read more...

Grace is Gone by Emily Elgar | HarperCollins {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Emily Elgar

Grace is Gone by Emily Elgar

Book Summary:

From the bestselling author of If You Knew Her comes this harrowing tale of suspense—a story ripped from today’s headlines—of a tight-knit English community, who’s rocked by the murder of a mother and the mysterious disappearance of her daughter, and the secrets that lie concealed beneath a carefully constructed facade.

A small town’s beloved family.

A shocking, senseless crime—and the dark secret at the heart of it all.

Everyone in Ashford, Cornwall, knows Meg Nichols and her daughter, Grace. Meg has been selflessly caring for Grace for years, and Grace—smiling and optimistic Read more...

The New Husband by D.J. Palmer | St. Martin’s Press {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

domestic thriller

The New Husband by D.J. Palmer

Book Summary:

The New Husband is a riveting thriller about the lies we tell ourselves from D. J. Palmer, the author of Saving Meghan.

Just because you love someone doesn’t mean you know them.

Nina Garrity learned that the hard way after discovering that her missing husband, Glen, had been leading a double life with another woman. But Glen’s gone—presumably drowned while fishing on his boat—so she can’t confront him about the affair or any of his other misdeeds. A year and a half after the accident, Nina considers herself a widow, even though Read more...

The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell | Atria Books {Book Review}

The Family Upstairs book summary

The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell

Book Summary:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone comes another page-turning look inside one family’s past as buried secrets threaten to come to light.

Be careful who you let in.

Soon after her twenty-fifth birthday, Libby Jones returns home from work to find the letter she’s been waiting for her entire life. She rips it open with one driving thought: I am finally going to know who I am.

She soon learns not only the identity of her birth parents but also that she is the sole inheritor Read more...

The Arrangement by Robyn Harding | Gallery/Scout Press | Book Review

Gen The Bookworm Book Review

The Arrangement by Robyn Harding

Book Summary:

“Natalie, a young art student in New York City, is struggling to pay her bills when a friend makes a suggestion: Why not go online and find a sugar daddy—a wealthy, older man who will pay her for dates, and even give her a monthly allowance? Lots of girls do it, Nat learns. All that’s required is to look pretty and hang on his every word. Sexual favors are optional.

Though more than thirty years her senior, Gabe, a handsome corporate finance attorney, seems like the perfect candidate, and within a month, they … Read more...

Upcoming 2019 Book Releases by my Favorite Thriller Authors | Book Recommendations!

Upcoming 2019 Book Releases!

2019 Thriller Books, Summer Reading

Summer Reading Choices…

Today I am excited to talk about some highly anticipated upcoming 2019 book releases! I talked about summer reading yesterday in my New Releases post HERE. With the full days and lots of interruptions(school is out for summer!) I really look to books that are easy to pick up and put down in shorter periods of time. I need real page turners in order to stay engaged and also remember what was happening in the book! Thrillers are a genre I get into a lot more during the summer months.

Conflicted Feelings

Read more...

June 25th New Book Releases | Happy Publication Day!

June 25th Book Releases

summer reading list

New Book Releases:

June has had some amazing new book releases and it isn’t over yet! If you are still looking for some fiction books to add to your summer reading list, you are in luck! This week there is a great mix of suspense, romance, and contemporary fiction being released, sure to meet your own summer reading desires.

Reading Choices Based on the Season

Just like with any other kind of media, everyone has very different ideas of what is preferable.  My reading definitely changes by the season and there are books genres I … Read more...

June 18th New Book Releases | Happy Publication Day!

June 18th New Book Releases

new book releases

Happy Publication Day!

Are any of these books on your summer reading list? I am reading The Summer of ’69 right now and I am so enjoying Elin Hilderbrand’s first historical fiction novel, set in, you guessed it…1969! And how gorgeous is this cover?!

Elin Hilderbrand

The Summer of ’69 by Elin Hilderbrand

If you are looking for an engrossing beach read that delves into some important issues of the late 60s…

“Welcome to the most tumultuous summer of the twentieth century. It’s 1969, and for the Levin family, the times they are a-changing. Every year Read more...

The First Mistake by Sandie Jones | St. Martin’s Press | Book Review

Gen The Bookworm book review

The First Mistake by Sandie Jones

Book Summary:

“THE WIFE: For Alice, life has never been better. With her second husband, she has a successful business, two children, and a beautiful house.

HER HUSBAND: Alice knows that life could have been different if her first husband had lived, but Nathan’s arrival into her life gave her back the happiness she craved.

HER BEST FRIEND: Through the ups and downs of life, from celebratory nights out to comforting each other through loss, Alice knows that with her best friend Beth by her side, they can survive anything together. So when Nathan Read more...