How to be a Person by Catherine Newman | Storey Publishing {Book Review}

Catherine Newman

How to Be a Person65 Hugely Useful, Super-Important Skills to Learn before You’re Grown Up

Book Summary:

For the kid who leaves a wet towel wadded up on the floor or forgets to put a new roll on the toilet-paper thingy, humorous writer and etiquette columnist Catherine Newman has created the ultimate guidebook to becoming a person whom everyone will like being around more. Jam-packed with tips, tricks, and skills — all illustrated in an irresistible graphic novel–style — this book shows kids just how easy it is to free themselves from parental nagging and become more dependable … Read more...

Five Things To Tell You… | May 18th, 2020

five things to tell you

Welcome to my new blog series, Five Things To Tell You... In addition to my Currently Loving posts, I wanted another way to share random info and updates, so if this is your thing too, you’re welcome! 😉

One: The Little Things

2020-05-17_0008

While many things have changed, some have stayed the same, including the beginning of Vermont’s creemee season. Like many small businesses, local creemee stands have pivoted to make sure that they can offer their products in a safe way and we have been making the rounds. We were there for Cookie Love’s opening day, which is an annual … Read more...

Currently Listening…Podcast Edition!

podcasts

Just like with my reading tastes, what I am listening to has changed a bit over the last few weeks. I have found that my ability to focus has shifted with my podcasts and I am seeing that I either need some small helpful bits of information, relatable banter, some inspiring messages, or maybe a quick distraction.

Fitting in Podcast Listening…

2020-04-16_0001

Previously podcasts made up a good part of my workday whether it was when I was editing on the computer or during my commute. Photos above are back in the “good old days”.

Now that I don’t have either … Read more...

Coffee Talk | Currently…Mental Health, Homemade Face Masks, Outdoor Adventures & At Home Haircuts

Blank-Instagram-Landscapes-4

Today marks the beginning of the seventh week of our COVID19 Quarantine.  The longer this has gone on, the more we really have settled into a new routine. Some days it is hard to remember what it was like before all of this. Has this happened with any of you?

During the first few weeks, I had a lot of anxiety because there was just so much unknown in addition to the anticipation of what things would look like, both locally and globally.

While there is still a lot of things we don’t know, it feels easier in some sense … Read more...

Coffee Talk | Currently…Life During The COVID-19 Quarantine with Kids

Currently Loving

The days are really starting to run together but this is our fourth week of learning (and surviving) at home.

The Same But Different…

book blogMy last “currently loving” post was in mid-February which seems like it was years ago at this point. It does make me laugh how many things in it are applicable to “quarantine life” now…I talked about my favorite cozy must-haves, my love of athleisure wear and winter blues and anxiety. Some things never change!

Learning at Home

school at home

We are slowly getting into the swing of things but it’s been a bit tricky because every … Read more...

March 2020 Book Recap & Ratings {Reading Wrap-Up}

Blank Instagram Portraits-48

Thinking back to the beginning of last month and knowing it was only a little over four weeks ago feels almost unbelievable. So much has changed and continues to change and it is a scary time for everyone. I have also felt a little vulnerable to share, even on this relatively small public platform because many of my feelings seem(are?) trivial in the larger scheme of things. 

How It’s Going…

global crisis{image via Liz & Mollie}

Physically we are all doing fine right now and I am grateful for that. Mentally, this has proven to be more difficult. There is … Read more...

How To Not F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers Author Interview {Author Q&A}

Author Interview

Back in February, I connected with author Lindsay Powers (leader of the #noshame parentingmovement) after reading and reviewing an advanced copy of her book You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids through her publisher Atria Books.

Lindsay Powers

{My full review of You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers}

Author Q&A…

After relating so much with her book, I was ecstatic when Linsday offered to do a Q&A on my blog. So much has changed since a month ago, and this book is more important than ever. Our interview was done in February (when we didn’t yet grasp what was … Read more...

Stay Home & Read More Books! {40+ Highly Recommended Book Suggestions}

book list

Seeing The Positive

While this is unchartered territory for so many of us, I am happy to hear that people are wanting to read! I have had a few emails from readers requesting book suggestions for authors and titles that are completely engrossing.

I don’t know about you but when I am worried, I need things that are totally engaging and distracting. These books are ones that completely took me in and I couldn’t think about anything else, which is exactly what you might need right now too. I hope this inspires your current reading list!

Stay Home Save

Read more...

Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes by Kathleen West | Berkley Publishing {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Kathleen West

Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes by Kathleen West

Book Summary:

Perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Small Admissions, a wry and cleverly observed debut novel about the privileged bubble that is Liston Heights High–the micro-managing parents, the overworked teachers, and the students caught in the middle–and the fallout for each of them when the bubble finally bursts.

Isobel Johnson knows helicopter parents like Julia Abbott–a stage mom whose world revolves around interfering in her children’s lives–come with the territory. Julia resents teachers like Isobel, who effortlessly bond with students, including Julia’s own teenagers, who have started pulling Read more...

You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers | Atria Books {Book Review}

Lindsay Powers

You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers

Book Summary:

Cribsheet meets The Sh!t No One Tells You in this no-holds-barred, judgment-free parenting guide that sets the record straight on every hot-button parenting topic by longtime journalist and founder of the viral #NoShameParenting movement.

What if you could do more for your kids, by doing a whole lot less?

Parenting today has become a competitive sport, and it seems that everyone is losing. From the very moment that little line turns blue, parents-to-be find themselves in a brave new world where every decision they make is fraught, every action Read more...