Coffee Talk | Currently…Life During The COVID-19 Quarantine with Kids

Currently Loving

The days are really starting to run together but this is our fourth week of learning (and surviving) at home.

The Same But Different…

book blogMy last “currently loving” post was in mid-February which seems like it was years ago at this point. It does make me laugh how many things in it are applicable to “quarantine life” now…I talked about my favorite cozy must-haves, my love of athleisure wear and winter blues and anxiety. Some things never change!

Learning at Home

school at home

We are slowly getting into the swing of things but it’s been a bit tricky because every … Read more...

March 2020 Book Recap & Ratings {Reading Wrap-Up}

Blank Instagram Portraits-48

Thinking back to the beginning of last month and knowing it was only a little over four weeks ago feels almost unbelievable. So much has changed and continues to change and it is a scary time for everyone. I have also felt a little vulnerable to share, even on this relatively small public platform because many of my feelings seem(are?) trivial in the larger scheme of things. 

How It’s Going…

global crisis{image via Liz & Mollie}

Physically we are all doing fine right now and I am grateful for that. Mentally, this has proven to be more difficult. There is … Read more...

How To Not F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers Author Interview {Author Q&A}

Author Interview

Back in February, I connected with author Lindsay Powers (leader of the #noshame parentingmovement) after reading and reviewing an advanced copy of her book You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids through her publisher Atria Books.

Lindsay Powers

{My full review of You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers}

Author Q&A…

After relating so much with her book, I was ecstatic when Linsday offered to do a Q&A on my blog. So much has changed since a month ago, and this book is more important than ever. Our interview was done in February (when we didn’t yet grasp what was … Read more...

Stay Home & Read More Books! {40+ Highly Recommended Book Suggestions}

book list

Seeing The Positive

While this is unchartered territory for so many of us, I am happy to hear that people are wanting to read! I have had a few emails from readers requesting book suggestions for authors and titles that are completely engrossing.

I don’t know about you but when I am worried, I need things that are totally engaging and distracting. These books are ones that completely took me in and I couldn’t think about anything else, which is exactly what you might need right now too. I hope this inspires your current reading list!

Stay Home Save

Read more...

Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes by Kathleen West | Berkley Publishing {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

Kathleen West

Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes by Kathleen West

Book Summary:

Perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Small Admissions, a wry and cleverly observed debut novel about the privileged bubble that is Liston Heights High–the micro-managing parents, the overworked teachers, and the students caught in the middle–and the fallout for each of them when the bubble finally bursts.

Isobel Johnson knows helicopter parents like Julia Abbott–a stage mom whose world revolves around interfering in her children’s lives–come with the territory. Julia resents teachers like Isobel, who effortlessly bond with students, including Julia’s own teenagers, who have started pulling Read more...

You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers | Atria Books {Book Review}

Lindsay Powers

You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids by Lindsay Powers

Book Summary:

Cribsheet meets The Sh!t No One Tells You in this no-holds-barred, judgment-free parenting guide that sets the record straight on every hot-button parenting topic by longtime journalist and founder of the viral #NoShameParenting movement.

What if you could do more for your kids, by doing a whole lot less?

Parenting today has become a competitive sport, and it seems that everyone is losing. From the very moment that little line turns blue, parents-to-be find themselves in a brave new world where every decision they make is fraught, every action Read more...

Coffee Talk | Currently Loving…Online Photography Workshops, All Things Winter Break, Parenting Life & Our First Book Club of 2020 {Gen The Bookworm}

Currently Loving

Welcome to the First Coffee Talk of 2020!

It’s been a WHILE since I have shared a Currently Loving post. December always feels like a blur and then January is a transition into a new year and into all our regular routines again.  This last week was the boy’s first full week back at school which meant it was my first full week back at work.

Your Life Your Camera Photography Workshop

Vermont photography workshop

This past weekend Kristy and I taught our first 2020 workshop of the year, our Your Life Your Camera Intermediate photography class.

Vermont photographers

We loved being reunited with participants … Read more...

December 2019 Book Recap & Ratings {Gen The Bookworm Monthly Reading Wrap-Up}

Gen The Bookworm reading wrap-up

Hello January!

Who else is feeling so good to be getting back into the swing of things? I love structure and routines and the fresh start to a new year. This is our first full week back at school and work and I am here for it!

One of the hardest parts of juggling parenthood and work-life is when your schedule is all thrown off because it ends up feeling like you aren’t doing any of it well…which is pretty much how the last three weeks have felt for me…

I am happy to be getting back into the swing … Read more...

The Power of Showing Up by Daniel J. Siegel, M.D. & Tina Payne Bryson, Ph.D.| Ballantine Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

parenting book

The Power of Showing Up 

Book Summary:

One of the very best scientific predictors for how any child turns out—in terms of happiness, academic success, leadership skills, and meaningful relationships—is whether at least one adult in their life has consistently shown up for them. In an age of scheduling demands and digital distractions, showing up for your child might sound like a tall order. But as bestselling authors Daniel Siegel and Tina Payne Bryson reassuringly explain, it doesn’t take a lot of time, energy, or money. Instead, showing up means offering a quality of presence. And it’s simple to provide Read more...

Kindle Book Deals! |$2.99 & Under! {Book Deals & Recommendations}

Kindle Books

Holiday Reading

Who is ready for some holiday reading? I know I am! I love stocking up on kindle deals for this kind of occasion. While I read a lot from the Libby app, there is something about grabbing a kindle deal that has no timeframe for when you read it! Kindle deals are a great and low-pressure way to read things you might not normally select.

Dysfunctional Family Dramas

family dramaI grabbed A Nearly Normal Family which has been on my TBR list and I can’t wait to dive in. I had been on the fence about it for a Read more...