Follow Me by Kathleen Barber | Gallery Books {Gen The Bookworm Book Review}

domestic thriller

Follow Me by Kathleen Barber

Book Summary:

From the author of Truth Be Told (formerly titled Are You Sleeping)—now an Apple TV series of the same name—comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes’s You.

Everyone wants new followers…until they follow you home.

Audrey Miller has an enviable new job at the Smithsonian, a body by reformer Pilates, an apartment door with a broken lock, and hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers to bear witness to it all. Having just moved to Washington, DC, Audrey busies herself impressing her new boss, interacting with her online fan base, and staving off a creepy upstairs neighbor with the help of the only two people she knows in town: an ex-boyfriend she can’t stay away from and a sorority sister with a high-powered job and a mysterious past.

But Audrey’s faulty door may be the least of her security concerns. Unbeknownst to her, her move has brought her within striking distance of someone who’s obsessively followed her social media presence for years—from her first WordPress blog to her most recent Instagram Story. No longer content to simply follow her carefully curated life from a distance, he consults the dark web for advice on how to make Audrey his and his alone. In his quest to win her heart, nothing is off-limits—and nothing is private.

With “compelling, suspenseful” (Liz Nugent) prose, Kathleen Barber’s electrifying new thriller will have you scrambling to cover your webcam and digital footprints.

Publication Date:

February 25th, 2020

Genre:

Domestic Thriller/Psychological Thriller

My Rating:

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

My Review:

Kathleen Barber

Follow Me (you can pre-order a copy with my affiliate link HERE)

Follow Me is a psychological thriller full of twists and turns and kept me captivated until the end. I loved that the storyline was based around social media and the idea that nothing is ever as shiny or perfect as it may appear online.

This page-turner is shared in alternating chapters between the main character Audrey, her best friend Cat and a third narrator who is only known by the reader as “him.” I thought this was such a clever way to have the story unfold and I loved that it kept me guessing.

Audrey isn’t very likable and I think that is the author’s point. She may have over two million followers online, but she lives for the posts and likes while her “real life” is quite dull and lonely. Her best friend Cat is the complete opposite and I enjoyed the polarization between these two characters that ended up adding a lot of dimension to this storyline.

Follow Me was creepy but light enough for a weekend or beach read which was exactly what I was looking for.

Thank you to NetGalley and Gallery Books for an advanced copy.


Disclosure: Some of the links above are affiliate links. This means if you click through and make a purchase, I receive a small commission that helps support this blog at no cost to you. Thank you!

Social Media Roundup {What’s New & Recent Posts}

Gen The Bookworm Instagram

Checking-in:

Hello out there! How is September going for you? Besides the semi-regular book review posts, it has been very quiet around here. I will eventually get back into the swing of things and be back with more regular Currently Loving posts, guest posts and that old summer vacation to Maine post I promised a couple of weeks ago…oops!

The “B” Word

I try not to use the “B” word (BUSY!) because it is one of my pet peeves but this time of year would probably fall into that category with work obligations…I like to say it is just a little more hectic and blogging on here doesn’t fall high on my priority list because that is really what it is. While my photography work is year-round, this beautiful time of the year in Vermont means we are running in high gear and our days are full.

I certainly have some free time but I am just doing other things, like putting away laundry while listening to my audiobook!! I do a lot of extra things in the morning before the kids wake up, but if doesn’t get done, it gets pushed off to the next morning and the blog posts tend to fall into that category.

I am NOT a computer before bed kind of person and I think it is important to have some time of the day to just “be”. Reading before bed is sacred to me, and I tend to read even more when life is hectic because it helps shut my brain off and wind down. Do you do this as well?

Busy as a Status Symbol

Busy has somehow become some kind of status symbol which is a bummer to me. Have you noticed this too? I think maybe because we see so much more of each other’s lives because of social media posting in general, which can be a great thing in many ways! 

I love when it helps make me feel less alone, or feel connected to someone else experience the same thing. But usually, if you have time to write about how BUSY you are, well, yeah…

Blogging vs. Social Media Posting

Anyway, I love blogging because I have a lot to say and sometimes(most times…) I reach the maximum amount of text on Instagram, ha! But blogging is a process, and so posting on social media tends to reign supreme when I have a smaller chunks of available time.

So if you are wondering what I have been up to, you can find some links to my recent Instagram posts below. You can also find me at @genthebookworm if you are interested in following along on a regular basis!

Instagram Roundup:

Gen The Bookworm

The Hard Copy/Audiobook Juggle with The Dearly Beloved

Gen The Bookworm

Cilka’s Journey Book Mail & The Tattooist of Auschwitz 

Gen the Bookworm book reviews

September Reading & Seasonal Reading Preferences…

bookstagram made me do it

Bookstagram Recommendations!

do you write in your books?

Hot Topic: Do You Write in Your Books?!

Pure Barre Vermont

Books & Barre

Fair Play by Eve Eodsky

Eve Rodsky presents the challenges of the “invisible work” of motherhood and then goes on to share a solution!


I hope you have a great rest of your Tuesday! <3